Mars Balms has a Logo & update since December

First of all, let me wish everyone a happy start to 2015! I have been away from my blog for a long time, even though plenty has happened since I last wrote. In December I participated in Santropol Roulant’s winter fair, selling my soaps. It was my first time at market and it went so well I sold out the larger part of my stock. Here’s a shot of my table taken by a Santropol employee 😀

marsbalms-sale-facebook-post

For this event I had a stamp made from a drawing I’d been working on for a while. Since I live in Quebec the logo reads “Baumes Mars Balms” with the French version of the name taking priority. I had the idea to encircle the name with a vine that turns into a growing, plant version of the Hippocratic symbol, snakes on a staff, or, the Rod of Asclepius, which is used to symbolize healthcare and pharmacies. I’m very happy with it 😀 SAM_2227

What was left of my stock sold out before Christmas, leaving just enough to give to friends and family 🙂 Another exciting event was the Natural Cosmetics workshop I held at Santropol Roulant. It got filled up so quickly another one was scheduled the following week! Both evenings went really well and I had a great time doing it. The idea started when I approached the beehive collective for beeswax and their coordinator suggested I hold a workshop on how to use products from the hive to make body products. The event was a pay-what-you-can with a suggested donation of 10-20$ with the proceeds, after expenses, going towards Santropol Roulant’s mission to break social and economic isolation with food as the vehicle. If anyone is interested in volunteering for them, click here.

I got a lot of feedback from people who attended the workshop, as well as a lot of questions during the workshop. To address these, I intend to make a separate post, hopefully bilingual to respond to each one. It should be up in the next few days. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

